If there is one thing
that typifies Silver Trail area, it is accessibility. Nowhere else can the
traveler find such easy access to a mountain top experience or to the human
history of an era.
Much like the wilderness itself, the Silver Trail history, which predates the
Klondike Gold Rush, is untamed and still highly visible. Artifacts, buildings,
equipment and monuments still dot the landscape. While efforts are being made
to catalogue it, Silver Trail history is not yet confined to books and
memories. Supplemented by tours of the history Binet House in Mayo and Mining
Museum in Keno, travelers here will acquire a firsthand sense of that history.
Equally accessible are the area's recreation facilities and wilderness hikes.
Travelers may readily drive to alpine meadows and hike panoramic ridge tops by
Keno, travel magnificent historic waterways by canoe, explore old mine sites
for unusual specimens, or fish the area's water.
The Silver Trail is a quiet, lightly developed region that will appeal to
those who travel with a sense of adventure.
While it was the search
for gold along the bars of Stewart River in 1883 that first brought white men
in any number to the region, it was the discovery and subsequent development
of massive silver deposits that gave the area its name, character and
Before the arrival of fur traders and explorer, the Stewart had been used by
the Northern Tutchone as part of their traditional area. First Nations people
camped, hunted and trapped along the river they knew as the Na-Cho Nyäk, or
Big River. More permanent settlements were established around the turn of the
century at McQuestern, Lansing, and at Old Village near Mayo with the
development of trading posts and towns at these locations. All these
communities were abandoned by 1960, with most of the former inhabitants
resettling in Mayo.
In the 1880s, as many as 100 men a year worked the gravel bars of the Stewart.
It came to be known as the "Grubstake River" because a man could
always find enough gold there to cover his costs for a season. In 1903, the
town of Mayo was established and the first silver claim was staked on Galena
Creek, near present day Elsa. The property was not mined until 1913, when it
was restaked as the Silver King. A silver staking rush ensued, leading to the
discovery of the Roulette claim in 1919. This claim, on Keno Hill, represented
the most significant silver strike in the Yukon. During the 1920s, Keno Hill
Mines, the town of Keno, and an ore processing mill were all established.
is Chief Johnson of the Mayo Band, later called the Nacho Nyäk Dun,
On the left is
the Silver King claim, circa 1914
Elsa was developed in 1935, after the mill was moved to process the rich Elsa
claim. United Keno Hill Mines in Elsa played a major role in the Territory's
economy during the silver boom in the 1950s and became the second largest
producer of silver in Canada–the fourth largest in the world. By the time
the low prices forced its closure in 1989, total production from the Silver
Trail region was over 213 million ounces of silver, 710 million pounds of lead,
and 436 million pounds of zinc.
12,000 tons of silver-lead ore, sacked and awaiting shipment on Mayo's
waterfront, 1938. It would go by riverboat and barge to Whitehorse, and from
there by train and freighter to smelters in the U.S.
Silver Trail Today
Today, Elsa looks much the same as it did in its heyday, but is essentially
uninhabited. Keno has a small group of residents who maintain the hotel and
mining museum, Mayo remains the area's main service centre, serving an
active placer gold mining industry, mineral exploration companies, wilderness
outfitters, and a growing tourist trade.